Newbie developers and cringeworthy moments

Newbie developers and cringeworthy moments

Newbie developers have a lot of cringeworthy moments, in the process or transitioning into tech we've all said or done things that still make us cringe when we remember it. One of such moments for me relates to commenting on code. Developers attach comments to their code (like people do for documents that they review), the machine doesn't read or act on a developer's comment.

I once thought to add comment for every line of code I write thus translating everything I write to English. Why this is ridiculous is that when best practices are followed, code is supposed to be self commenting, which means you should write your code in a way that is easy enough for the next developer to understand. Comments are mostly used to explain the logic behind some processes and to provide strict instructions/guidelines to other developers that will peek under the hood of said project. Thankfully I never got to write the kind of comment I had in mind before I learnt industry best practices. I shudder to think about what would have happened if ended up writing such a code, having to review and defend it in public.

As a newbie in tech you have to mentally prepare yourself for the fact that you'll get many things wrong and you maybe laughed at or reprimanded for it. What matters is that you pick yourself up and keep moving, you may not quickly notice it but you are getting better.